Eight US states aim to put 3.3 million zero-emission vehicles on the road by 2025

Governors from eight states have announced an initiative to put 3.3 million zero-emission vehicles (defined as EVs, PHEVs and fuel cell vehicles) on the roads in their states by 2025.

These states – California, Connecticut, Maryland, Massachusetts, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island and Vermont – are among those that have already adopted the California Air Resources Board (ARB) regulations that require about 15 percent of new vehicles sold to be zero-emission vehicles by 2025. Several already have various EV-friendly policies in place. Together, the eight signatory states represent more than 23 percent of the US car market.

The eight states will develop an action plan over the next six months that will include these strategies:

  • Harmonize building codes to make it easier to construct new electric car charging stations
  • Lead by example by including zero emission vehicles in their public fleets
  • Evaluate and establish, where appropriate, financial and other incentives to promote zero emission vehicles
  • Consider establishing favorable electricity rates for home charging systems
  • Develop common standards for roadway signs and charging networks 

The cooperative agreement, or “Memorandum of Understanding,” is available here.


Source: ARB

Create Account. Already Registered? Log In

Virtual Conference on EV Engineering: Free to Attend

The sessions from our Fall 2022 Virtual Conference are now available to view on-demand. Register for a session below to watch the recording and download the presentation.


Webinars & Whitepapers

EV Tech Explained