EV Engineering News

Formula E Championship unveils provisional 2014/2015 calendar

The FIA Formula E Championship has unveiled its provisional 2014/2015 calendar. The all-electric racing series will take place in 10 city centers on four continents, beginning in Beijing on September 20, 2014, and winding up in London on June 27, 2015.

For the first season, all 10 teams – each with two drivers – will compete using the new Spark-Renault SRT_01E car, which was unveiled recently at the Frankfurt Motor Show. Each event will feature a free practice session, qualifying session, one-hour race and live music concert taking place in a single day. Circuit layouts for each venue will be revealed at a later stage, but all will use city-center locations.

“Today’s provisional calendar sees us race in the heart of some of the most well-known cities in the world providing a fantastic backdrop and showcasing electric vehicles in their favoured urban environments,” said Alejandro Agag, CEO of Championship promoters Formula E Holdings. “We will now focus on finalising the design of each of the circuits as well as working closely with all our partners to ensure we deliver each of these events in the most sustainable way possible. Today is a very exciting day for the future of motorsport and we can’t wait for the first race to begin!”

 2014/2015 FIA Formula E Championship – Provisional Calendar

Round 1

Beijing, China

20th September 2014


Round 2

Putrajaya, Malaysia

18th October 2014


Round 3

Hong Kong, China

8th November 2014


Round 4

Punta del Este, Uruguay

13th December 2014


Round 5

Buenos Aires, Argentina

10th January 2015


Round 6

Los Angeles, USA

14th February 2015


Round 7

Miami, USA

18th April 2015


Round 8

Monte Carlo, Monaco

9th May 2015


Round 9

Berlin, Germany

30th May 2015


Round 10

London, UK

27th June 2015


Source: FIA


EV Engineering Webinars & Whitepapers

EV Tech Explained